Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

Recognizing Local Medal of Honor Recipient Einar Ingman

25 Mar News

Today, the country will be recognizing those veteran’s who have been awarded the most prestigious service honor.

The Medal of Honor is awarded for personal acts of valor above and beyond the call of duty. National Medal of Honor day was created in 1990 to recognize those who have been award the medal.

Einar Ingman of the Tomahawk area is one of three living Wisconsinites that have been awarded the Medal of Honor. He received the medal during the Korean War. The others from Wisconsin include Kenneth Stumpf and Gary Wetzel who each served in Vietnam.

In addition to today’s National Recognition, the state of Wisconsin continues to honor these veteran’s throughout the year. Last November a Medal of Honor Monument was dedicated at the Wisconsin Veteran’s Home at King to honor all 62 state recipients.

Then in January of this year the new Veteran’s home in Chippewa Falls dedicated a Medal of Honor Hall. Einar Ingman was able to attend the dedication ceremony, which was also welcomed Governor Scott Walker and Secretary of DVA John Scocos.

In the United States, there are just 80 living recipients who have received the medal.