Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

North Central Wisconsin Counties Named Natural Disaster Areas

05 Jul News

The US Department of Agriculture has designated a third of Wisconsin’s Counties as natural disaster areas including several here in North Central Wisconsin.

Secretary Tom Vilsak granted Governor Scott Walker’s request from last week to declare a natural disaster. Overall, 24 of the state’s 72 counties are now eligible for assistance due to the extended winter weather, and the multiple freezes and thaws that wiped out between thirty and seventy percent of some crops.

Included among those eligible counties are Marathon and Lincoln Counties.

The declaration makes resources available to farmers from the USDA, the University of Wisconsin Extension, and other agencies. There are also drought resources available through Ready Wisconsin.  

Farmers in need of feed for their livestock or with feed to sell are encouraged to use the Farmer to Farmer program provided by UW Extension. More information is available from the USDA.