Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

Czaja, Other Area Reps. Named to Rural School Task Force

20 Sep News

The state has rounded out a task force designed to look at rural schools with several elected officials from the area.

Representatives Mary Czaja of Irma, Mary Williams of Medford and Mandy Wright of Wausau will all serve among the 12 member task force. Last week Rob Swearingen of Rhinelander was named the chair of the group.

Topics to be examined by the task force include partnerships among school districts, future transportation needs, long-term financial stability and tactics for handling declining enrollment.

According to Representative Czaja, 44% of Wisconsin students attend school in a rural classroom. She says, “A quality education is essential for these future workers and small-business leaders of our state.”

While she acknowledged there is “no one size fits all solution,” they will work “to identify new ideas, and study current best practices on ways for rural schools to make the best use of resources and extend every opportunity possible to students.”

The exact times and dates of meetings have not been announced, locations will include Rhinelander and Merrill. A task force report on the findings and recommendations will be expected early next year.