Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

Municipal Election Results for Merrill/Tomahawk

02 Apr News

Preliminary ballots have been counted and voters selected several new people to represent them.

In perhaps the biggest change in our listening area, Clarann Stocker defeated Bob Lee to become the next mayor of the city of Tomahawk. Stocker received 209 votes, Lee 184. Lee had served as mayor since 2000.

City Council races in Tomahawk were all unopposed races. Both Steve Bartz and Don Nelson return to their seats. Pat Haskin won the final race. She ran to fill Rejeana Ebert’s seat after Ebert announced that she would not seek re-election.

In Merrill, Mayor Bialecki received the most votes, he faced a write-in campaign. In the only competitive race, City Clerk Bill Heideman won handily.

Finally, in a newly created position of Multi-Jurisdictional Municipal Judge, Ned Suebert defeated Merle Jim Sheridan with 57 percent of the vote. Sheridan had previously held the position when it was limited to Merrill only. Suebert received more votes in both Merrill and Tomahawk.