Close

Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

Sports

TopWJJQ Local Sports Notes

Phillip Bethel represented Tomahawk in the State Special Olympics Bowling Tournament at Dale’s Weston Lanes on Saturday, December 6th.  Phillip finished in first place.

TopHatchet Sports Stories, Results and Schedules

TopTHS Boys Hockey

The Hatchet Boys Hockey Team defeated Medford 6-0 on Tuesday night in GNC action at Sara Park.

Jakob Panzer had a hat trick, Alex Ungerer scored two goals and had an assist, Nick Osero had a goal and an assist and Danny Hanke had 19 saves.

Tomahawk is 1-5 overall and 1-2 in the GNC on the season.

Tomahawk will travel to Lakeland on Thursday night, with the opening faceoff at 7:00 pm.

2014 THS Boys Hockey Schedule

TopTHS Girls Hockey

The Tomahawk Hatchet Girls Hockey Team defeated Medford 7-0 on Tuesday night in GNC action.

Maddie Ungerer had a hat trick and an assist, Nicole Nerva had two goals and two assists and Ericka Vallier had a goal and two assists.

Tomahawk will travel to Lakeland on Thursday night, with the opening faceoff at 5:00 pm at Lakeland Ice Arena.

2014 THS Girls Hockey Schedule

TopTHS Boys Basketball

The Hatchet Boys Basketball Team lost to Rhinelander on Tuesday night, 56-40.

The Hodags led 14-10 after the first and 24-18 at the half.  Rhinelander outscored Tomahawk 32-22 in the second half.

Jordan Roessler and Justin Jarvensivu had 12 each, and Brandon Vecchio had eight.

Tomahawk will travel to Mosinee on Friday, with the opening tip at 7:15 pm.

2014 THS Boys Basketball Schedule

TopTHS Wrestling

The Tomahawk Hatchet Wrestling Team won the Wabeno Invitational on Saturday with 191 points.  Tomahawk had championship efforts from Slade Erdmann, Dane Borchardt and Kaleb Kaminski.

Tomahawk will host Mosinee on Thursday night in the Great Northern Conference opener.  The opening match is at 7:00 pm, with The Big Q’s prematch show at 6:35 pm.

2014 THS Wrestling Schedule

TopTHS Girls Basketball

The Tomahawk Hatchet Girls Basketball Team lost to Rhinelander 52-23 on Tuesday night.

Haley FauFau had 8 and Talyn Jones had six.

Tomahawk will host Mosinee on Friday, with the opening tip at 7:15 pm.  The Big Q will have the pregame show at about 7:00 pm on Northwoods 92-5.

2014 THS Girls Basketball Schedule

TopTHS Boys Swimming

The Tomahawk Hatchet Boys Swimming Team defeated the Medford Raiders 87-74 on Tuesday night in GNC action.

Finishing first for Tomahawk was their Medley relay team of Kole Svacina, Logan Loretz, Nathan Goehe and Peyton Hamm in 2:05.48.

Junior, Logan Loretz took first place in both the 200 Individual Medley at 2:34.74 and in the 100 Breaststroke at 1:12.79.

Freshman, Kole Svacina also took double firsts in the 100 butterfly at 1:19.44 and in the 100 backstroke at 1:16.07.

Sophomore, Nathan Goehe took first again in the 500 freestyle at 6:16.00

On Thursday the Hatchets will host Rice Lake and Lakeland, with the opening event at 5:30 PM.

2014 THS Boys Swimming Schedule

TopWJJQ Sports Podcast Archive:

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs Catholic Memorial – WIAA State Championship  Saturday, November 8, 2014

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs Waupun – WIAA State Semi Final  Friday, November 7, 2014

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs Barron – WIAA Sectional Final  Saturday, November 1, 2014

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs Altoona – WIAA Sectional Semi-Final  Thursday, October 30, 2014

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs Rhinelander – WIAA Regional Final  Saturday, October 25, 2014

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs Antigo – WIAA Regional Semi Finals  Thursday, October 23, 2014

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs Lakeland – WIAA Regional Quarter Finals  Tuesday, October 21, 2014

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs Northland Pines  Tuesday, October 14, 2014

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs Lakeland  Tuesday, October 7, 2014

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs Mosinee  Tuesday, September 30, 2014

PODCAST:  Girls Basketball – Tomahawk @ Peshtigo – WIAA Regional Quarter Final  Tuesday, March 4, 2014

PODCAST:  Boys Basketball – Tomahawk @ Peshtigo – WIAA Regional Final  Friday, March 1, 2014

PODCAST:  Boys Basketball – Tomahawk @ Clintonville – WIAA Regional Semi  Friday, February 28, 2014

PODCAST: Girls Basketball – Tomahawk vs. Antigo  Thursday, February 27, 2014

PODCAST:  Boys Basketball – Tomahawk vs. Northland Pines – WIAA Regional Quarter  Tuesday, February 25, 2014

PODCAST:  Boys Basketball – Tomahawk vs. Hayward  Tuesday, January 21, 2014

PODCAST:  Girls Hockey – Tomahawk vs. Antigo / Rhinelander  Monday, January 20, 2014

PODCAST:  Wrestling – Tomahawk vs. Rhinelander  Thursday, January 16, 2014

PODCAST:  Girls Basketball – Tomahawk vs. Prentice  Tuesday, January 14, 2014

PODCAST:  Girls Hockey – Tomahawk vs. Lakeland  Monday, January 13, 2014

PODCAST:  Girls Basketball – Tomahawk vs. Crandon  Friday, January 10, 2014

PODCAST:  Boys Basketball – Tomahawk vs. Rhinelander  Friday, December 13, 2013

PODCAST:  Boys Hockey – Tomahawk vs Waupaca  Thursday, December 12, 2013

PODCAST:  Wrestling – Tomahawk vs. Athens  Tuesday, December 10, 2013

PODCAST:  Boys Hockey – Tomahawk vs. Marshfield  Thursday, December 5, 2013

PODCAST:  Girls Basketball – Tomahawk vs. Rib Lake  Tuesday, December 3, 2013

PODCAST:  Boys Basketball – Tomahawk vs. Wittenberg Birnamwood  Tuesday, November 19, 2013

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs. Wittenberg Birnamwood – Regional-Final  Saturday, October 26, 2013

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs. Antigo – Regional Semi-Final  Thursday, October 24, 2013

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs. Medford  Tuesday, October 15, 2013

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs. Newman  Thursday, October 10, 2013

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs. Northland Pines  Tuesday, October 8, 2013

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs. Rhinelander  Tuesday, October 1, 2013

PODCAST:  Volleyball – Tomahawk vs. Antigo  Tuesday, September 17, 2013